a home for thoughtful low brass players

David Zerkel



Hugh Hodgson School of Music

250 River Road

Athens, GA 30602

UGA Tuba Euph News

Jeju International Tuba Competition

David McLemore recently took Third Prize at the Jeju International Tuba Competition, held in Jeju, South Korea. The field started at a robust 74 players and David advanced from the preliminary round to the semi-final round, into the finals.

Chris Leslie Wins Falcone

Chris Leslie recently took First Prize in the Euphonium Artist Solo Competition at the Leonard Falcone Ineternational Tuba Euphonium Festival. Chris is the ninth UGA Student to win a medal at Falcone since 2002. UGA Alum Phillip Bloomer (MM 09) took Thrid Prize in the Artist Tuba Solo Competition.


The UGA Tuba Euph Studio was well represented at ITEC in Bloomington. The ensemble performed well, under the direction of Blake Unger. Students involved in competitions fared very well. Chris Leslie was the first place winner in both the Euphonium Solo Artist Competition and the Mock Military Band Audition Competition. Chris, Patrick Geren, David McLemore and Chris Gurtcheff finished with a second prize in the Small Chamber Music Competition. UGA Alum Phillip Bloomer (MM 09) was the first prize winner in the Arnold Jacobs Orchestral Excerpt Competition and won third prize in the Tuba Artist Solo Competition.

Welcome New Students

Very pleased to announce the incoming class of new students for next fall!

Chuma Atunza will begin his BM in Tuba Performance while pursuing a double major in Computer Science. Clare Brennan will begin her MM in Tuba Performance.

Cecilia DeFurianni will begin her Bachelors with an emphasis in Euphonium.

Joel Garcia will begin his BM with an emphasis in Euphonium.

Laura Rann will also begin her Bachelors with a Euphonium emphasis.

Thrilled to have these bright and talented new students on board!

Chris Leslie Wins TUSAB Concerto Competition

DMA Euphonium Student Chris Leslie was named the Winner of The United States Army Band Collegiate Concerto Competition. He will perform the Ellerby Euphonium Concerto on two programs with the Army Band in Washington, DC in June. Bravo Chris on this great accomplishment!